The boy next door

March 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

Thank you thank you thank you!

John told me that he called and that you told him I was home sick. So you know what he did next?  Really, I don’t want to make you nauseated, but I’m dying to tell someone, so I’ve selected you as my victim:

He went to the Second Avenue Deli and got me chicken soup!

Really! A whole big thing of it! And then he stopped by with the soup, orange juice, a video, and ice cream( plain vanilla, but then I don’t think he knows any better. You’re right. you do have to train them sometimes ).

And even though I must have looked totally awful ( I had my puppy print pajamas and fuzzy bunny slippers, and you should have seen my hair, hoo boy), when I asked him if he wanted to stay and watch the movie( Rear Window- I know what you’re thinking, but I am sure he has absolutely no idea that I have been spying on him)

So I turned on the television around on its little cart so we could watch it on the couch, but he said I should be in bed and then he made me get back in it, and turned the teevee around again so it faced the bed.

It was so nice! We watched the movie and I ate my soup and when I was through he broke out the ice cream, and we ate it right out of the container with spoons, and then when the scary parts happened, we forget all about it and it melted, some all over my sheets which are sticky now, but who cares?

Then when the movie was over I turned it to the weather channel, and there was live coverage from Hurricane Jan, which has been decimating the coast of Trinidad! So we watched that a while, and then I don’t know what happened. I must have had too much Sudafed, but the next thing I knew, he was saying good night and that he’d see me tomorrow, and when I woke up again he was gone and it was night, and he had done all the dishes.

Not just the dishes from the soup and juice and stuff. ALL the dishes that had been in my sink were washed and sitting in the dry rack.

For a minute I totally thought I was hallucinating, but this morning, they were still there! Nadine, he did my dishes while I was unconscious, and probably snoring, due to my massive nasal congestion.

Isn’t that the sweetest thing you’ve ever heard? I mean EVER?  I’ve never had a man do my dishes before

well that’s all. I just wanted to brag. I still feel like a total crud.

P.S: Just because I’m sick is no reason for you to skip spin class

MEG CABOT

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The boy next door at Breathe in the future, breathe out the past.

meta

